Creative Project

For my creative project, I decided to video my experience at a pop-up museum in Atlanta. I attended the pop-up museum, Candytopia, which centers around the theme of candy. The museum consists of art made out of candy, and there are a lot of opportunities where one can take pictures in front of set up backgrounds. In order to best capture my experience and reactions to Candytopia, I made a YouTube style vlog (video blog). I do not have a video camera or any professional equipment, so I decided to just use my phone to record myself as I walked through the museum. To edit my video, I used iMovie, which is a program that comes with my Mac laptop.

In my research project, I felt it was important that I go to a pop-up museum to better understand its purpose before making judgements about it. I believe that the vlog style video was the perfect way to capture my ideas about pop-up museums. I was able to record what the museum looked like and the experience itself. I could also truly capture my reaction and thoughts about the museum, as I was recording myself as I experienced the museum for the first time. As shown in the video, I am surprisingly very comfortable videoing myself in the pop-up museum, which I think says a lot about the phone/social media use in the museum. I was shocked at the lack of art in the museum. Much of the experience consisted of workers encouraging attendees to take photos at every turn, and there were backdrops everywhere to capture photos one would share on their social media. If there was art, it tended to be someone else’s art that had been re-made with candy or a portrait of a celebrity.  It seemed that this place was better suited for younger children, and felt like a drastically different experience than going to a more traditional museum.

What is interesting about my creative project is that while I am just videoing my time at Candytopia, I am videoing in a vlog style, which is a big trend on YouTube right now. I tried to  edit my video with different effects, including visual and audio effects, that many YouTubers use in their videos. With this editing, I was able to mirror the vlogging trend that is currently popular on YouTube and make my video more fast paced and entertaining. The vlog style video helped me capture my ideas about Candytopia and is something I have always been interested in experimenting in.

Here is my vlog!!!!

Leave a comment